Yeomanry Regiments

In addition to the Regular Army units listed, volunteer "territorial" units, large and small, have been raised throughout the history of Britain. If these units were comprised of cavalry, they were called "yeomanry". Organised on a parochial basis primarily for local defence, occasionally these amateur soldiers were included in overseas campaigns. For example, one of the earliest engagements of WWI was a mounted skirmish between the Oxfordshire Yeomanry and German Uhlan cavalry at Mont des Cats (France) on 7th October 1915.

The following list represents examples of yeomanry units of the 19th Century:

Ayrshire (Earl of Carrick's Own) Yeomanry
Berkshire Yeomanry
(Royal) Buckinghamshire Hussars
Cheshire Yeomanry
Denbighshire Hussars (Wales)
Derbyshire Yeomanry
(Royal) 1st Devon Yeomanry
(Royal) North Devon Yeomanry
(Queen's Own) Dorset Yeomanry
Essex Yeomanry
Fife and Forfar Yeomanry (Scotland)
Glamorgan Yeomanry
(Royal) Gloucestershire Hussars
Hampshire Yeomanry
Hertfordshire Yeomanry
(Royal) East Kent Mounted Rifles
(West) Kent Yeomanry
Hampshire Carabiniers
Duke of Lancaster's Own Yeomanry (Lancashire)
Lancashire Hussars
Leicestershire Yeomanry
Lincolnshire Yeomanry
Northumberland Hussars
(South) Nottinghamshire Hussars
Oxfordshire Hussars
Pembroke Yeomanry
Sherwood Rangers
(North) Somerset Yeomanry
(West) Somerset Yeomanry
Staffordshire Yeomanry
(Loyal) Suffolk Hussars
Sussex Yeomanry
Warwickshire Yeomanry
Westmoreland & Cumberland Yeomanry
(Royal) Wiltshire Yeomanry
(Queen's Own) Worcestershire Hussars
East Riding of Yorkshire Yeomanry
Yorkshire Hussars
(West) York Yeomanry